Hatsune Miku Project Diva F

Got my copy of Hatsune Miku Project Diva F today.

F is PS3 version, f is Vita version, lol.

Unfortunately, the trophies are shared by both versions, so there are no additional trophies for me to unlock. This sucks because it’s one less reason for me to get PS3 version.

Had I known about this, I think I should’ve instead gotten the 3000 yen DLC for Vita version that adds all PS3 version extras. It’s too late I guess.

The first-print copy of the PS3 version has a code that if you use it, the said Vita DLC will be discounted from 3000 yen to 1500 yen. In the end I did purchase this DLC. It might seem like a good deal, but overall I paid so much more for having 2 versions of essentially the same game (and no extra trophies to unlock) -.-

There is an issue of lag with PS3 version too. Well it’s more of the display’s fault (my TV). The game provides calibration option and I have it set to -33. I think it’s perfect now (at least for my display). How I came up with this number is that I guess my TV lags 2 frames behind, and 2 frames of 60fps (or 1 frame of 30fps) is about 33ms.

The scratch mechanic of Vita version has been replaced by ‘flip’, which is basically flicking the analog sticks. I prefer scratch because I feel it’s more accurate but I guess I’m just not used to flip yet.

As expected, among the 6 new songs, the main attractions for me are Tell Your World and Senbonzakura, two songs that I have listened before and I know are great. I managed not to watch the PVs from promotion trailers etc so this is my first time watching them. Tell Your World’s colors and lightings are really nice, and Senbonzakura is very faithful to the original PV.

2013-03-08-211014

2013-03-08-210717

Among the 4 songs which I have never heard before, I like Tokyo Teddy Bear best. It’s pretty surprising to me when I realize that among my favorite songs, quite a number of them are Rin’s solos (Kokoro, Roshin Yuukai, Kodoku no Hate, Iroha Uta, Tengaku and now this).

2013-03-08-210841

6 thoughts on “Hatsune Miku Project Diva F

    1. Helu

      Yeah, I quite regret having the PS3 version now. It’s nice, I mean the graphics are crisper (but not much better that I would call this more than a port), you can watch the PVs in 3D, and there is that Studio Mode which I haven’t explored. But the thing is, I can’t help but feel that I have two copies of the same game, and I have to beat them separately (the sync tool doesn’t synchronize much beyond the things you unlocked). And I just prefer playing it on portable. Oh well, I’ll just take this as a collection. But yeah, I feel I could’ve better spend the money on something else.

      Reply
  1. OshareKeiji

    I have the Vita version too, but I must confess that I’m loving the PS3 version better.

    Why? The star tracks.

    Instead of an oftentimes “selectively responsive” touch screen which makes certain songs nigh-impossible to perfect on Extreme, you use the more sensitive analog sticks.

    The only way I’m even going back to PDf on the Vita is if Sega updates it to allow an analog stick control option on the stars.

    Reply
    1. Helu

      For some reason, I’m still not used to the flicking yet especially on a group of 3 or more notes. I find that it takes more time to flick the stick back all the way to the other direction after you flicked it to a direction. Whereas for scratch I find that I just need to do small motion. Maybe I’m pushing the stick more than needed lol. And someone on GameFAQs suggested alternating the sticks which I should try out. But yeah, I guess I’m not used to it yet.

      Reply
      1. OshareKeiji

        Yeah, alternating is good, especially if the consecs go beyond 3 reps. It would feel awkward at first, but once you get used to it, you’ll find that the response time is slightly faster than that of the touch screen scratch.

        I also learned that back-and-forth flicking isn’t necessary; if you’re confident enough with your thumb movements, quick multiple up/down flicks can work as well.

Leave a Reply

