Beat Shinovi Versus

Finally beat the game ^^

2013-05-20-142625

Hikage’s conversations really cracked me up. I’m becoming a big fan of Kansai-ben characters lol.

2013-05-18-174243

Not completed though, there are still missing trophies… -_-”

I think I should pick one character to max, but it’s a pretty difficult choice… ^^;

I don’t think I’m buying Daidouji and Rin… Actually, I can’t even find them (it’s not in external and in-game PlayStation Store??) Edit: Ah, ok… just need to go deeper in external PlayStation Store.

5 thoughts on “Beat Shinovi Versus

  1. OshareKeiji

    Regarding Kansai-Ben characters, I’m pretty much on the same boat.Outside SK, other such characters I’ve come to like are U-Ko (A Channel), Kobato Hasegawa (Haganai) Majima Sagyo (Let’s & Go Max) and Tomoe (Criminal Girls).

    Reply
    1. Helu

      Ah, great! Yeah I need to find more of these Kansai-ben characters ^^ In video games, I only know Hikage, Okuni from Samurai Warriors and Hideyoshi Ushiromiya from Umineko (although he’s faking it). Outside video games, I know Toujou from Love Live! and the Osaka characters from Detective Conan lol

      Reply
  2. OshareKeiji

    In case you haven’t noticed, the shopkeeper in Shinovi Versus is a Kansai-jin as well.

    Nice to see someone else of non-Japanese upbringing who actually takes notice (and appreciates) such linguistic details. Most other fans I know often mistake it for a character-specific idiosyncrasy.

    Reply
    1. Helu

      Lol, well, it’s because these characters speak differently than other characters, but I notice similar phrases and it’s too sophisticated to be character specific quirk, lol. I remember more characters now: Asuka from Tekken series and Kokoro from DOA series, though I’m not sure about Kokoro… might be the motivation I need to put in DOA5 disc and check it out… ^^;

      I’m also aware within Kansai dialect, there are sub dialects like Kyoto dialect and Osaka dialect. I don’t think I can’t specifically point the differences but I think the funny/rough/tomboy characters like Hikage and Asuka use Osaka while the graceful ones like Okuni and Kokoro uses Kyoto…

      This is just wild uninformed guess, though. Last I heard Okuni, I think she sounds similar but there are very slight differences from what I’ve been recently hearing from Hikage.

      Reply
  3. OshareKeiji

    There’s also Chubu-Ben, a dialect that’s often mistaken for Kansai-Ben since they have similar tenses and suffixes. It’s about as rough as the Kyoto one and many Tokyoites consider it even more of an oddity than Kansai-Ben.

    The only character I know of in anime who speaks Chubu-Ben is Chikako Awara (GA Geijutsuka Art Design Class)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

