Dangan Ronpa Again

2013-10-30-025955

So I started playing the first Dangan Ronpa again.

Dangan Ronpa 1・2 Reload for Vita contains both the first Dangan Ronpa and Super Dangan Ronpa 2, after all… It’s like the ultimate package of the first 2 Dangan Ronpa games X)

I was waiting for something like this to appear and the wait was answered and it was worth it ^^

Back then, I played the original PSP version pretty much around its release date. Not many people knew about the game back then. Now it seems to have gained some popularity with the anime and English patch. Even the Wikia has respectable information (but don’t go there if you don’t want to be spoiled! >.<)

I remember I sold my Dangan Ronpa PSP version because I was going digital back then. If my PSP games are also available digitally on PSN, I would sell them, thinking one day I could re-buy them on PSN. As a result, almost all my PSP games now are games that can't be found on PSN.

I ended up sticking to physical Vita games, though ^^; I don't know, Vita packages are small… and you can think of it as if you're buying a memory card with the game data exclusively put inside. It's also because I can't pay on Japan PSN without Japanese credit card, and the premium you got to pay for the top-up cards is just… -_-" I can probably endure if I just want to buy 1 or 2 titles, but many games for Vita apparently caught my eyes ^^;

In contrast, I never played the second game on PSP, which is why I started on the second game first on Reload.

I can't quite remember why I didn't play the second game immediately when it was released on PSP, though. I guess the different setting (tropical island) and new cast of characters (no Asahina Aoi) and that at first glance it didn’t seem to continue the first story turned me off. And I think around that time they released Dangan Ronpa on iOS, so I was sure that the second game would also be ported to a more preferred system later… and I was right.

Btw, Dangan Ronpa on iOS is apparently not supported for iOS 7. Lucky I never bought it ^^; This is pretty much why it's risky to buy iOS games that cost similar to console/handheld games (like the recent Tales of Hearts R). It’s ironically not… future-proof.

Gotta say, it's been a while since I last played the first game. Except the first case, I can't no longer remember the details of the rest, lol.

I think I prefer the first game's UI over the second one. Seems to be faster.

I miss Maizono Sayaka, too:

2013-10-30-030117

I can’t imagine what they would do for Dangan Ronpa 3 (not the spin-off they recently announced) but I would anticipate it X)

One thought on “Dangan Ronpa Again

  1. Pingback: English Launch Trailer for DanganRonpa: Trigger Happy Havoc | WASD UK

Leave a Reply

