The Nintendo 3DS LL (XL) that ‘screams Miku’

スクリーンショット 2013-12-03 0.49.50

I was always pretty impressed when I saw my friends play their Nintendo 3DS XL.

It seems to defy what it means to be a great (Apple, cough) product. It’s bigger and heavier. Its main merit is the larger screen but that also means lower pixels-per-inch. The screen is almost as large as Vita’s (if not larger than, hard to tell without math because of the slightly different aspect ratio ^^;) and yet its resolution is even lower than PSP!

This product is like a testament that ppi and resolution don’t really matter (unless there are lots of small text to be read, I guess). Like Kotaku’s 3DS XL review said, the lower ppi actually makes games ‘more gamey’.

And so I was quite prepared to jump ship to 3DS XL. The tipping point is when I stumbled upon this page a few weeks ago:

スクリーンショット 2013-12-03 0.56.04

Like what a GameFAQer (sorry, lol) said, the color just screams Miku. Moreover, this 3DS XL (LL in Japan) is released on the same date as Hatsune Miku Project mirai 2 (smart marketing, eh).

And I thought, this is exactly what I want.

Symbols, images and patterns can grow old, I think. For example, even if my Peace Walker camouflage PSP is cool, to be honest sometimes I wish I have a plain black PSP instead. If I were to have devices that show my support for Miku, just her color is all is needed, I think.

In fact, I would’ve bought iPhone 5c instead of iPhone 5s had it offered Miku color. Still waiting for that hypothetical MikuPod and MikuNano as well (Apple should have realized the presence of Miku and notice how important this turquoise color is, imo ^^;)

Now that I have this 3DS LL, while I’m sometimes annoyed by the big pixels, I can’t help but think that this is the perfect screen size. Nintendo should ideally have used this screen size all along and should have used higher resolution, in my opinion.

The pack also includes a ‘cleaning pouch’. I guess it’s a pouch, but when you want to clean the 3DS you can just use the pouch to wipe it around, lol.

I’m pretty convinced now that screen size for gaming devices should be at least 5 inch (and that it doesn’t have to be 16:9, it can be slightly taller).

Leave a Reply

