Super Heroine Chronicle Impressions

1__73205_zoom

I haven’t beaten the game yet, but some love & hate have kinda formed in me with this game ^^;

When there are many units in the field, the game’s frame rate seems to drop (I’m playing Vita version). And it’s not just a while but throughout. I say ‘seems’ because it’s kinda hard to verify, it could be an impression caused by the units’ slow-moving animation.

The UI in general seems slow with no way of skipping it.

There doesn’t seem to be a way to skip the visual novel part either. So if you game over and need to repeat, you have to mash circle button to skip the visual novel part -_-;

There is actually a gameplay difference between skipping the battle animation or not. Without skipping the battle animation, you get the crash gameplay, where you can call nearby characters to assist (Soul Impact) or perform Extra Attack when there is no ally nearby (damaging just the ‘part’ HP).

I still don’t know what causes this, but some characters now have ‘strengthened’ Soul Sympathy (assist attack when she’s nearby the attacking character). The only difference I can perceive when their Soul Sympathy is strengthened is that during W Impact (mini-game when you manage to crash the enemy’s all ‘part’ HPs and main HP at the same time with that character), the final illustration is more… naughty.

I can’t help but feel the W Impact mini-game (where you have to press a series of buttons) is unnecessary. They could’ve just shown something pretty (like special attack) for us to look at -.-;

So yeah, basically this game is unnecessarily slow with all the points above combined and to speed it up I tend to skip battle animation. But on the other hand, I’m pretty sure I’m going to miss something if I skip them too often but worse is I’m not sure what. Maybe some trophies or some special abilities…

But if you don’t skip the battle animation, you’re gonna see all these long battle animations that (even though at first they’re nice or funny) I have gotten bored of seeing again and again… -_-”

Really, what do these developers gain by making their games slow as molasses, I have no idea…

This is probably the reason why I don’t really like SRPGs in general and even though I have kinda prepared myself (before playing this game) for slower gameplay, I think this game exacerbates the problem even further.

I gotta thank this game for introducing Symphogear, Hidan No Aria etc though. I should check out these series next time.

I think I’m going to wind down at this game and probably just beat a Stage each day (no idea how long I will beat this game). That way I can also take my time slowly in each session.

I’m probably gonna return to Neptune Re;Birth 1 or play some other game…

2 thoughts on “Super Heroine Chronicle Impressions

Leave a Reply

