Upcoming Game: Kagerou Darkside Princess

Deception_IV_Japanese_cover

Official site

This is an upcoming game (27th Feb) that I’m quite interested in but most likely I wouldn’t buy it on release date (unlike Super Heroine Chronicle)

This is part of the Deception series by Tecmo and it’s a game where you can set traps on floors, walls, and ceilings as the only way to eliminate the enemies. You can set the traps so that the enemies would fall into the traps one after the other, resulting in a combo.

Apparently they already have plans to release it on the West and it would be called Deception IV: Blood Ties.

I played Kagerou: Deception II a little back in PSOne days. I feel that it was a very unique game at the time.

I don’t think I’m a creative person though (and I think I’m more of a masochist than a sadist ^^;) so I might not be able to derive much fun from this game. Plus I couldn’t get into Trapt (Kagerou II: Dark Illusion) for PS2 last time.

But I’m glad that some developers still continue to make new games for the series (this and recently Drakengard/Drag-on Dragoon).

I find it pretty sad that a lot of series, including some that I grew up with like Onimusha and Tenchu, seem to be completely abandoned. I hope these series would get revived someday, and properly (instead of being rebooted by Western developers or turned into yet another social card game etc)

Now Tecmo, if you can make another Fatal Frame game on Sony systems… It would be a day-one preorder ^^;

3 thoughts on “Upcoming Game: Kagerou Darkside Princess

  1. OshareKeiji

    Save for the first one, I’ve done every single game in the Deception Series (also have Kagerou and Deception 3 in DL Archives form), and I have to agree that the series went downhill with the PS2 title…

    …since this is practically a revival title (having skipped a console gen and making it’s portable debut), I’m expecting quite a lot from it. Given, it doesn’t have to stick to the established formats to the dot, it just shouldn’t make the same weird moves done in Kagerou II.

    Also, retaining the Triangle Horse trap is a MUST.

    Reply
    1. Helu Post author

      Wow, you really seem to have played a lot of series! 0.o

      This game is looking very good so far but I guess I’ll wait a little for the reviews while I try to clear some of my backlog ^^;

      Reply
  2. OshareKeiji

    Well, this happens to fall under those “not-so-established series” that I have a habit of actively seeking out.

    Like you, I’m not going to get it right away. I have my own backlogs as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

