Back to Metal Gear Solid 4?

metal_gear_solid_41

It’s that time again… after finishing a game, I’m not sure what to play next, i.e., which game to clear from my backlog.

But I think this time I made a pretty snappy decision: Metal Gear Solid 4.

Since Metal Gear Solid 5… er, V Ground Zeroes is coming ^^;

I’ve actually played this game to death before with at least 21 playthroughs… on my old account, on Asian English version and back when it had no trophies -_-;

I bought 3 copies of this game: regular Asian version, US limited edition and Japanese limited edition. I’ve since sold the Asian version and opened the Japanese version (the one I’m playing now), but I still have the US limited edition sealed.

Anyway, since I was in the middle of the playthrough. I need to reorient myself a bit.

I checked my trophy list, and I’m left with these:

Divine Wind
Caused a “divine wind” using the Tanegashima.
I think I haven’t bought this special rifle yet because I don’t have enough money. One thing about this game is that the store has discount on certain real weekdays, and I think I also chose to buy only on those days.

I Just Don’t Fear Death
Ended ALERT status while wearing the Corpse Camo.
I don’t think I have this Corpse Camo yet either. I think you need to do some noob run to get this camo.

I am THE expert on weapons
Obtained all weapons (excluding weapons obtained via password).
Hopefully all the weapons are purchasable from shop, though I won’t be surprised if one or two weapons are unlocked on special conditions.

Flashback Mania
Viewed all flashbacks.
I think I skipped a few flashbacks already on my current playthrough, so this should wait for next playthrough. I think basically you shouldn’t skip cutscenes and you should mash circle button during cutscenes.

Sounds of the Battlefield
Obtained all iPod® tracks (excluding tracks obtained via password).
This trophy looks innocent but I remember it actually would require me to get every emblems in the game, which are awarded at the end of playthrough and can be accumulated/collected through multiple playthroughs. I think I would need to do some expert runs to get the expert titles (Big Boss, FoxHound etc) and several unnaturally noob runs -_-” The stupid thing about this entire thing is that you can only know which emblems you have gotten so far only at the end of a playthrough.

I guess my plan for now is just to complete my current playthrough and check the titles that I’m missing… Then I’ll plan again from there.

Update:

Just got Divine Wind trophy. So it turns I already got Tanegashima rifle, I just haven’t shot it enough to randomly cause the divine wind.

Bad news about the getting all weapons trophy though… The shop is empty. That means I’m left with special requirement weapons (probably from the expert runs).

I’m just gonna speed-run this playthrough with killing enemies for now… Hopefully it will net me some noob emblems I haven’t gotten.

Leave a Reply

