That stupid manga sweat… ^^;

If you’ve been reading manga, you might notice that the characters ‘sweat’ easily, when they’re worried, on edge, etc etc.

Like this:

11-2

They even sweat underwater lol:

6-2

I doubt they’re really sweating, it’s more like one of manga author’s ‘tools’ to express character feelings. But are they really necessary? Personally it gets annoying to me when they’re so often used (and especially after I noticed them).

To make my point, here’s a manga chapter with lots of sweat in it:

http://mangapark.com/manga/detective-conan/s1/v85/c904

And below is the ‘unsweated’ version that I did:

1-2 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17

See that nothing is really broken?

To be fair, I think a few expressions did get a little nuance loss, but I think most of them are fine without the sweats. The characters’ expressions and the styles of their speech bubbles are usually more than enough to show their feelings.

I know some authors who use these sweats sparingly, but they’re rare. If I ever become a manga artist myself, I definitely do not want to be putting all these sweats around ^^;

(I know I’m rather a hypocrite on this because I’ve been plastering my blog posts with this emoticon ^^; and of course the ; represents sweat… ^^;)

Leave a Reply

