Taking it slowly + mixed feelings about buying new games

Kantai Collection

After trying it out, I feel that Kantai Collection runs better on Safari than Chrome in Mac OS X. The animation feels smoother, and my Retina MacBook Pro doesn’t get as hot. I started with Chrome due to being able to set larger max cache size (apparently to help with entrance lottery) and I heard that Chrome supposedly runs Flash more efficiently than Safari.

Gotta say, I’m no longer rushing when it comes to playing Kantai Collection. I’m just slowly leveling up the ships, particularly the Destroyers.

I know a Large Scale Event is coming soon and I think it’s worth a shot to try the first few maps, but I don’t think I would go all the way to clear the Event.

Date A Live Vita

I paid AmiAmi for this game since the past me apparently preordered it and it should reach by Friday. I have quite mixed feelings about buying this game because:

1) My enthusiasm with Date A Live series has kinda died down ^^;

2) Date A Live Vita combines the 2 PS3 games + Extra story, and I’ve completed the 2 PS3 games. I hope the Extra story is long enough to be worth it

3) I went to Japan recently, and I was amazed by how cheap the second-hand authentic Japanese games are. I’m pretty sure one day this game would sell used for like 1,800 – 3,000 yen

On the other hand, I think visual novels do fit Vita more than PS3 or PS4 because of the convenience of picking it up like reading on tablets. And I’m not a resolution maniac; e.g. 1920 x 1080 vs 1280 x 720 is not a big difference for me. In fact, I prefer lower resolution with smoother frame rate than the other alternative.

And this time, I didn’t buy the limited edition (I bought the limited edition of the first 2 games).

In general, I’m at a stage of (gaming) life where I’m willing to wait for the best version (which might or might not appear), or I can get them cheap. After all, I still have games I bought that are still waiting to be enjoyed.

Like I told my friend, buying a game day one in full price is like buying a medal that shows your dedication/support to the game/series, with the official privilege of being able to play the game early.

Persona 4 Dancing All Night

Perfected more songs in Hard. I’m already 58 hours into the game.

Recent update of this game provides an option to ‘scratch’ the rings by pressing L/R trigger. I tried it but gotta say I’m already used to pushing the analog sticks (which I think is the cool/unique part about this game; the constant shifting between pressing the buttons and pushing the analog sticks, and the decision to push the left analog stick if the ring is too close with the right-side note) ^^;

It’s actually possible to watch the PV without the UI, sound effects and character voices (i.e., pure Watch Mode), by going to Replay and playing around with the settings (Hide UI, Disable Sound Effect, Config -> turn Voice Volume to 0). I haven’t really looked at the dances properly so watching them without playing is kinda fresh to me (though I also noticed repeated animations).

2015-07-28-230515

The game is even nice enough not to put any watermark on the captured screenshots X)

But yeah, can’t wait for the Hatsune Miku DLC for this game (mid August). I hope she has her original costume as well but I’m not counting on it; there’s an extra song DLC for Rise for example, and for some reason it’s locked to her P4D costume (maybe it’s a pre-rendered PV instead of real time).

Leave a Reply

